Armed Forces Covenant - National Wales Project

In 2017 the WLGA received funding from the Ministry of Defence’s Armed Forces Covenant Fund to undertake a national project which aims to:

  • raise awareness of the Armed Forces Covenant and the issues affecting the Armed Forces Community in Wales;
  • improve the availability of information about the Armed Forces Covenant for the Armed Forces Community in Wales;
  • improve communications relating to the Armed Forces Covenant in Wales made by/between local authorities; and
  • promote and share best practice.

Part of the project involves the development of several new resources aimed at local authorities.

Armed Forces Training Package

The Armed Forces Training Package, developed by Cardiff and Vale College, consists of a face-to-face training pack and an e-learning pack. The training package is suitable for local authority elected members, frontline staff and departmental mangers, officers and staff. The package explores such issues as:

  • what is the Armed Forces Covenant;
  • what is the Armed Forces Community;
  • what issues can the Armed Forces Community face; and
  • what are local authorities doing



The purpose of the microsite is to provide information to local authorities, the Armed Forces Community and the wider public on the Covenant and the work that local authorities in Wales are doing in relation to this agenda. As well as providing information on the Covenant and links to all local authorities in Wales, the site features a series of short films highlighting some of the work and projects which are ongoing in local authorities across Wales.   

Regional Covenant Projects

The national Wales project works in conjunction with, make links to and compliments work already being undertaken by local authorities regionally; separate bids made by the five regions to the Ministry of Defence’s Armed Forces Covenant Fund were also successful.

Armed Forces Community Covenant Fund: Project Zones (Wales)

Zone 1 - North Wales: (Isle of Anglesey, Conwy, Denbighshire, Gwynedd, Flintshire and Wrexham)

Contact: Stephen Townley Stephen.Townley@wrexham.gov.uk


Zone 2 - West Wales: (Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire and Ceredigion)

Contact: Hayley Edwards HREdwards@carmarthenshire.co.uk


Zone 3 - South Wales East: (Merthyr Tydfil, Rhondda Cynon Taf, Vale of Glamorgan and Cardiff)

Contact: Jamie Ireland Jamie.L.Ireland@rctcbc.gov.uk and Abigail Warburton awarburton@valeofglamorgan.gov.uk


Zone 4 - Gwent: (Torfaen, Caerphilly, Blaenau Gwent, Newport and Monmouthshire)



​Zone 5 - South West Wales (Bridgend, Neath Port Talbot, Swansea)

Contact: Bethan Dennedy B.Dennedy@npt.go.uk


Zone 6 - Powys

Contact: Andy Jones Andy.Jones@powys.gov.uk

For more information contact: Rachel Morgan