Welsh Language Standards

From the 30th March 2017, the Welsh Local Government Association has committed to comply with the Welsh Language Standards, as set out by the Welsh Government under Section 44 of the Welsh Language (Wales) Measure 2011. These standards set clear expectations on us to provide services in Welsh to our customers, and to promote the use of the Welsh language through all the services.

The language standards we must comply with are divided into 4 different categories:

  • Service Delivery
  • Policy Making
  • Operational
  • Record Keeping

Details of the standards, how we comply with them and how we plan to monitor our compliance can be found in the ‘Our Welsh Language Standards and how we comply’ below.

Should you want to make a complaint, please see our complaints policy for details on how to do so.

You also have a right to direct any complaints relating to the Welsh language to the Welsh Language Commissioner.


Our Welsh Language Standards and how we comply

You can see which standards the Welsh Local Government Association should comply with, as well as information on how we comply and also monitor our compliance.




Complaints policy

Our complaints policy outlines the procedure for making a complaint about any of our services, including our compliance with the Welsh language standards. It defines what a complaint is, and gives details on how to make a complaint.


The Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA) represents the interests of local government and promotes local democracy in Wales.

Tel : 07553 655939
Mail : enquiries@wlga.gov.uk
Business Hours : Mon - Thurs 8:30 - 5:00, Fri - 08:30 - 16:30